How changing my diet changed my running

So in my last entry I alluded to changing how I ate. I'm almost embarassed to write about it because it is such a fad, but for the sake of honesty (and the fact its changing my life!) I will.

I jumped on the bandwagon–I gave up gluten.

Now, am I allergic? No. Celiac's? No. Do I feel better without it? Absolutely. I guess you could say I am “sensitive” to it. It affects me in many ways – my digestive system, my energy levels, my mental state, my running!

Its been a little under two months since I gave it up–about 7 weeks with only 3 moments where I tried to eat it again. And those three times all resulted in bloating, feeling sick, headaches, etc.

I tried going Paleo and felt awesome–essentially Paleo is gluten-free because you are not eating grains, but I love dairy too much to give that up (and its a major protein source for me!) Thats what got me thinking about how the wheat as affecting me…

Its been 7 weeks and Ive lost 12 pounds. TWELVE POUNDS! Not having the bloating and always feeling full alone is worth the giving up of bread. I am not tired all the time. I wake up without feeling terrible and tired. My runs are better.

I would eat pizza or a sandwich or spaghetti and literally roll around holding my stomach about how full and awful I felt, how distended my stomach was–PDubs can attest to this.

So–thats it. Here are two pictures–the first is from the 2.5mile race I did in May at 126 pounds, the other from the Finish at the 50 5k I did at 117 pounds (my father is in both pictures because we did both races together–and spoiler alert–he beat me at both!)

 

 

 

I am not recommending anyone else give up gluten–I do it now because it works for me. There is a lot of research going both ways–it is good for you, its good for you in moderation, AND its terrible for you. Do your research, and see what works for you!

 

Leave a Reply

