Snow Day and Paleo Sheperd’s Pie

I was right–yesterday ended up being a snow day. Kind of bummer come the end of June, but for night now it was nice to sleep in and eat bacon and eggs for breakfast!

I took the snow day and did what any teacher would do – no work whatsoever. I watched bad tv. I went to the gym once the roads were clear and ran for 45 minutes. And then I decided to make what I thought was going to be an involved dinner.

I made this based this recipe. I sort of winged on the mashed cauliflower–I used some coconut milk, an egg, and an undetermined amount of chicken broth. I also used coconut flour instead of potato starch. Coconut flour is sort of amazing. So much fiber! And it thickens like white flour.

This dinner was kind of a big deal. It was dairy and gluten free (full-on Paleo, if you will). It was also my first time eating cauliflower. And parsnips. Like…ever. I am a potato fiend, so I was EXTREMELY happy with how this tasted. The cauliflower didn't have the exact texture, but the taste was spot on. It also heats up really easy for a quick dinner, which is key in my life!

Other things going on: currently obsessed with grape fruits. They are in season and so delicious right now. And I have a grapefruit spoon (which I just found), so eating them is way easier than they were last winter! I look forward to eating one every day.

 

CALL FOR GARMIN HELP!!!! DIRE TIMES!!!!!!

Came home from school today and went back to the gym for a quick run (30 minutes). My heart rate monitor is STILL messed up. It hasn't worked for months. I called Garmin once. They sent a replacement, it worked for about 2 months, then it was broken too. Am I too electrical or something?? My HR always reads in the mid 200's. It's such a bummer. Please let me know if you have any ideas!

 

Things I have tried to fix it:

Wetting it more

Wetting it less

Washing the strap

Wearing upside down

Wearing backwards (monitor on back)

Wearing it sideways (monitor on ribs)

 

Let me know!

Tomorrow is MCAS proctoring, teaching allllll day (no preps!), after school help, and then tutoring from 3-4. I don't have classes on Thursday anymore but I clearly like to stay busy!

 

One response

Leave a Reply

