Do-It-Yourself Chipotle Burrito Bowl

I love Chipotle. Like, I really love Chipotle. I could eat there every day and be happy. My wallet would not, however. I have been on a mission to recreate their burrito bowl at home. Ive tried it quite a few times but think I finally got it with the most recent try.
This is what I ALWAYS order:
Chicken
Brown Cilantro-Lime Rice
Black Beans
Mild AND medium salsa
Sour Cream

I am going to break down each piece here!

Chicken

The marinade is comprised of the following:

1 Chipotle Chile (from a can–super hot), chopped
4 cloves garlic, chopped
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 onion chopped
1 teaspon cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon chili powder

I put it all in the food processor and then spread it over the chicken. Left to marinate in the fridge for 1-24 hours. If less than 4 hours I suggest poking your chicken with a fork first to get maximum flavor!

I then threw it on the George Foreman grill and chopped:

Salsa

While the chicken was “happening”, I made another batch of my Sister In Laws Salsa…the only edit is that I added a Chipotle Chili Pepper to enhance the spiciness!

Cilantro-Lime Rice

1 tablespoon butter
1/2 lime
teaspoon clantro, chopped (to taste)
1 cup brown rice
1 1/3 cup water
1/2 teaspoon salt

Melt butter in saucepan. Once melted, add dry rice and the juice of 1/2 lime. Mix, then add water and salt. Bring to boil then turn down heat and cover. Let cook for about 25 minutes (or 10 if you used quick rice like me 😉 ) and turn off heat. Let sit to “steam” for 30 minutes. Then, fluff with fork and add cilantro.

Black Beans

I was pretty nervous about the black beans. The only time I cook beans is when I dump the drained can into chili!!!! This was painless though.

-1 can black beans
-1 clove garlic
-1/4 onion chopped
-salt

Saute onion and garlic (minced) for a few minute in a teaspoon or so of olive oil til transluscent. Add contents of can of beans–DONT DRAIN!! Let come to a boil on the stove and add salt to taste. THATS IT!

Pico De Gallo

I whipped a quick Pico too–just a mix of diced onion, tomato, jalapeno, and a splash of salt and some cilantro!

For PW…I also sauteed some fajita vegetables (thats his Chipotle thing)

Put it all together with a dollop of sour cream!

This was the PERFECT dinner! It was enough for about 3 bowls…if you want more leftovers, more than 1 cup of rice and 1 can of beans is necessary. If you try this–let me know!!

2 responses

  1. I see a lot of interesting articles on your page.
    You have to spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there
    is a tool that creates high quality, google friendly posts in couple of seconds, just type in google – k2 unlimited content

  2. I read a lot of interesting content here. Probably you spend a
    lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is an online tool that creates high quality, SEO friendly articles in minutes, just search
    in google – laranitas free content source

Leave a Reply

