Apple Crisp and Math

I havent been blogging, but I have been taking pictures like I was! I dont even know where to begin. I put off Sundays long run until 5pm, and at that point I didnt have the cojones to do it: it was 90%, 100% humidity, with a dewpoint of 70. What I am saying is that I knew it would be brutal and I mentally needed a good run. So I did the unthinkable and pushed it to Monday (I moved stuff around and did a short run on Sunday, so I could still have a post-long run recovery day dont worry!(

And, because I wanted it to be, I had a great run! Did a short recovery run and bike ride on Tuesday then woke up early today. Drove to my hometown to see the ‘rents and banged out 90 minutes with 2×15 in Zone 2 (tempo) in the middle. Again: a great run. I semi carbo loaded last night with some popovers so maybe thats the key ๐Ÿ˜‰

Other things that have been going on: I made an awesome Apple Crisp…from scratch! Its getting to be that season. As soon as the pumpkin flavored beers come out, its free reign for apple centered autumnn themed desserts.

It started with the crumb topping, which, I could eat as a dessert in and of itself. Brown sugar/quick oats/flour/melted butter:

Sliced up some apples. I prefer Granny Smith!

Throw some sugar, flour, and water on top of the apples then topped with the crisp. Felt like it took forever to bake–seriously longer than a pie, about 70 minutes. Totally worth every stinkin’ second though:

I brought it to our friends house last night and even Grissom, their cat who is secretly a dog (maybe a human actually) liked it!

I also FINALLY baked another loaf of The Core Diet Power Bar replacement Banana Bread. You read that right. One slice has the same nutritional stats as a Power Bar! We are both in pretty big training weeks (uhh comparatively–I am running 62 miles-8 hours-plus a few hours biking, PW is doing 31 hours!) and its SO nice to have a ready made breakfast before workouts thats tasty and DIFFERENT!

Now, I need to hit the hay. Because tomorrow, last minute, I am taking a class! It is 7 days and comes highly recommended…it is called Increasing Accessibility to Algebra & Geometry. ย Which is extremely relevant to my life. ย And yes, I am really excited about it! I hope it includes how to do this on a TI-Inspire:

Probably not though. I think its more mathy than that ๐Ÿ™‚ Wish me luck–I havent taken a class (if you dont count massage school) since my bachelor’s degree in 2005! I am also starting my Masters this month. Eeeek! I am a pro at a time management. Or at least I hope to become one!

QUESTIONS:

Do you love autumn related foods? Pumpkin spice donuts/beer/coffee? Apple pies?

I live for Dunkin Donuts Iced Pumpkin Spice coffee. I dont know what they do to it, but I could drink the syrup straight!

Whens the last time you were in a classroom? Other than to teach of course. Any advice for me, going back?

Im a little nervous about fitting back into the student role!

9 responses

  1. OK, your apple crisp is about to make me blow my diet tonight…think I’ll go have an apple. YES, I love autumn foods…specifically apple stuff.
    Last classroom: last week! five-day class for calc teachers. Advice: don’t sweat it, it’ll be fun and it’s a lot different than when you’re actually a high school or college student; and it’s a good way to get pumped for the new school year.

  2. I was going to say the same thing, cut yourself a break for the first day or so and don’t freak when you sit down to write your first paper and you don’t remember how to start (not that that happened to me…..)

  3. Oh God I love apple crisp… Almost as much as I love fresh apple cider donuts in the fall. Don’t judge ๐Ÿ˜‰

    You’ll do well in school, it’ll all come back quickly. My sister is a high school math teacher, who just started back at grad school. She said it came back really easily, and she loves it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

