Beer Marinated Steak = Dinner WIN!

After a small dinner last night, I had a terrible run this morning. I cut it short and promised bigger and better things for tomorrow AM. And I also promised myself a nice, filling, semi-carbo loading dinner. Enter: steak tips. Ive only made steak once, and that was in the oven. We recently acquired a grill (thanks Mom and Dad!), so it was time to put on my big girl pants and grill up some meat!

I dont know WHY I thought to marinate the steak in beer (actually, its probably because Ive been thinking of making Beer Fries since I read the post!) But it ended up being a great decision. This was, no joke, the BEST steak Ive ever had. Ever.

Marinade:
1/2 bottle good beer (I used Blue Moon Winter Seasonal because its what I had)
1/4 cup olive oil
2 cloves garlic whole
salt
pepper

Thats it! I put all of that, and the steak, into a ziploc bag in the fridge. I let it sit for about 1.5 hours then took it out and set it on the counter for the last 30 min (to get it back to room temperature).

Grilled up (hot grill, turned to medium when I put the steak on, grill 4 minutes on each side–only flip once! And make sure to let it sit before cutting it!) It was so tender–seriously the best.

I had mine with roasted potatoes and brussels sprouts:

PW had his with a red/sweet potato medley and a pound of vegetables.

You know who else had steak? This girl:

It is her 5th birthday today!

I grilled her up a little mini steak and cut it into pieces. Dont worry, we gave some to Chloe too so she wouldnt feel left out.

In other news, yesterdays lunch was homemade taquitos with refried beans and chicken in a low carb wrap. I am 2 for 2 with the meals as of late!

And for a quick catch-up:

PW updated his blog with a race report from the Olympic distance race he did Sunday. He was second overall! Not bad for an LT test 2 days prior 😉

AND I met Little Miss Runshine at the same race–she was competing in her first triathlon, the Wild Cat Sprint. Which she totally owned. She is as cute (and fast) in real life as youd anticipate:

7 responses

  1. On the Today show this AM the guy grilling food said he pats down/dries marinated meats to aid in browning, etc. as the flavor is already in there. I’m guilty of putting it on wet and it dripping on the grill.

Leave a Reply

