A Day of Sherpa-ing

If you are finding yourself here from the JB Road Race Site, or saw me at the 5k in New Hampshire today–Hello! And Welcome to ThatRunnerChick.com!

If you’re looking for the Ethan Brown interview, you can find it at the top of the page under the “Interview” tab!

So, this morning I got up bright and early to head to New Hampshire. It was the day of the RedHook Brewery 5k! I know I have mentioned this before, but I have seriously awesome coworkers. Like, 4 of the ladies in my department ran this race. AND one of them started Couch to 5k, completed it, and this was THE 5k at the end of the training. I got to be part of her first race!!!

So motivating to see someone begin to train and then meet a goal! I took about a thousand pictures (and there were 2200 people!), but, as usual, I have lost the cord that uploads the pictures of my DSLR. Why don’t I learn my lesson?! When I find it, I will post them. Just know I had an awesome sign. And yelled things like:

“DON’T BE IRRATIONAL!”
“DO IT FOR EUCLID!”
“BE REAL!”

My sign also said “Go Math Ladies”, so, hopefully the runners got the joke and didnt think I was crazy.

After that, I came home, ate some lentil soup and then got my bike out. I havent ridden my bike outside since we moved (over a year ago).

PW was so concerned about my safety, he made me ride around our street to make sure I remembered how (I am not kidding.) But, like they say, its just like riding a bike, and I was fine. In fact, I was psyched to be out on the little pink lady. Forgot how much I loved riding. Here I am, super excited to be heading out:

I knew it was going to be a recovery ride, but I also knew it was going to be 2.5 hours. Would I survive? Would PW? We got in 21.6 miles. Me on my bike, PW running. 2.5 hours. He went through FOUR BOTTLES of sports drink!!! Good thing I had those water bottle cages! It was super muggy out. We went down a new route for me, and a typical route for him. This was my view for 2.5 hours:

It is soooo beautiful out here. I actually thought to myself (this doesnt happen very often) how lucky I am to live in Massachusetts! Here is another scene from the ride:

This ride actually reignited my love for my riding my bike–I think I am going to head out tomorrow!! Will have to have PW fix my aero bars first, he had to take one of my elbow pads for it, and I sacrificed it for the cause!  He is going for an OWS (Open Water Swim) with one of the Speedo Guys (from Lake Placid–remember?), and that is something I am DEFINITELY not doing.  So bike riding and lesson planning it is!

3 weeks left of school.  I am dreading it because I like my kids a lot this year, and what I am teaching.  But at the same time, I am looking forward to the very last day because I leave for PWs race in Idaho!

Ah well, off to start that new book!

13 responses

  1. It was definitely an awesome sign – by far the best one I saw out there! And your coworkers (this one, at least) appreciated your support and the fact that you spend about six hours of your Sunday supporting us!

  2. So you finally gave into riding/ running with Pat! The last time I did that with Travis, he dropped me when i stopped to look at a house for sale! it was extremely embarassing!

  3. It was from the designer’s Fall 2011 collection so it certainly had an autumnal air about it but the silhouette was an excellent fit for the singer.This distinguished LV 277 chronograph sparkles with over 800 diamonds for a remarkable version.If you need to learn how to lower your cholesterol levels via Ayurveda it is advisable to get used to a Kapha diet regimen to preserve the digestive fire. But now with the concept of onestop shop life has not only become easier but the shopping experience too has evolved into a far more enriched and fulfilling one to say the least.Like a great bear, Maury puttered around on the other side in the door, then sank on top of the squeaky bed and snored almost instantly. The finished steel computer hardware adds a hint associated with modernity.The very first sign of the use of a purse is believed to have been in 3,300 BC. Faded jeans with a perfect boot cut will be the seasons craze. Kellogg’s dividend growth is also note, coming in at about 50% over the past six years. Some may even be thrice more expensive than your laptop.

Leave a Reply

