Guest Recipe–Risotto by Paul

I am terrified of making risotto.  It seems so intense.  And it’s hit or miss–once you ruin it, forget to stir even for a minute, its ruined.  Of course, I only know this from watching Top Chef.  My friend Paul decided to go for it, and sent me a step by step recap as he was cooking. I am going to repost it for you!! In case you want to picture this whole thing going down in real time, this is what he looks like:

(He is the one on the right, Ryan is on the left! Yes, Im pretty sure he cooks in a speedo too–those swimmers are a different type of people)

From Paul:

“So after having amazing risotto at a friends house on 5 different occasions I decided it was time to give it a shot. No particular reason for the recipe I chose, just googled risotto and boom!

Just for fun I added one portabella mushroom cap. It came out really well for the first attempt. I can’t wait to try one with shrimp or pumpkin or other seasonal specialities. Here are the photogs. Enjoy and good luck if you ever attempt!”

The ingredients he used:

1/2 cups water
2 cups milk
2 tablespoons butter
1 cup minced onion
1 clove garlic, minced
3/4 cup uncooked Arborio rice
3 tablespoons white wine
1 medium tomato
1 1/3 cups fresh corn kernels
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 cup fresh basil leaves
1/2 teaspoon salt
ground black pepper to taste
1 portabello mushroom

And the step by step pictures:



And the finished product, paired with chicken and a salad!

Looks good right?? Maybe I will overcome my fear yet!

And, just because I have to get this off my chest, I had my first Peep EVER today:

And it was followed by 4 more. Because 5 peeps are a serving size, so it seems only right!

QUESTION:

Do you like Peeps?

 

Have you ever made risotto?  Did you find it easy/difficult/totally worth it??

14 responses

  1. Your first peep ever? Really? Wow. I grew up eating them at Easter. I like them better after they’ve had a week or so to age after the package has been openned.

      • I am sitting here eating Brach’s Jelly Chicks and Rabbits. They are a lovely color. Pink (of course) yellow green, and red. Nice gummy texture similar to Swedish Fish.

        I did purchase peeps myself but they were for my clear jar lamp and they are currently being displayed in the lamp. However, I will not eat a peep, I would not like them
        here or there.
        I would not like them
        anywhere.(except in my lamp)
        I do not like
        green, yellow or pink peeps
        I do not like them,
        Sam-I-am a.k.a TGP xxx

  2. Peeps are wonderful…..until the 6th one and then you feel like projectile vomitting blue dye all over the place! Peeps are definitely those have-in-extreme-moderation food otherwise you will end up being disgusted by them

  3. …yuck- i do not like peeps! Not sure why- maybe it’s the texture I’m not a fan of.. but i just can’t get into them.. but they are so cute! maybe that’s why I can’t eat them :o)

  4. The only way to eat peeps is stale, you need to open the packe, let them sit for 24 hours and then enjoy — Best Ever!

Leave a Reply

