This is a Waffle House

This is not a recipe to be taken lightly. It is the best recipe I have ever put on this blog. (Unfortunately not the best pictures though–this is my point and shoot camera 😦 ) I feel like I never need to cook again. The waffles, they were light and fluffy, crispy on the outside, and approximately 4 million times better than the boxed mix. I feel the need to finish the post and go back into the kitchen to make them again!

What you need:
-Waffle Maker
-Hand Mixer
-2 cups all-purpose flour
-2 eggs
-2 Tblsp flour
-1.5 tsp vanilla
-1 teaspoon cinnamon
-4 tsp baking powder (or replacement, below)
-1.75 cups milk
-1/2 cup smart balance oil

Don’t have baking powder? (I didnt). Easy fix. For each teaspoon of baking powder required, use 1/4 tsp baking soda and 1/2 teaspon cream of tartar. For the above recipe I used 1 teaspon baking soda and 2 teaspoons cream of tartar.

Use the mixer and beat until smooth. Cook like any other waffle on your lil griddle and check this out:

Results in a messy kitchen, but so worth it!

Don’t put too much mix in…because this happens and its unfortunate:

Wish the pictures could do this recipe justice!!

Now, back to my Saturday ritual of watching Thats So Raven and correcting papers before my run! Think I might actually do it outside today!

4 responses

  1. Beautiful waffles! They look so crispy and delicious. I really like making these. In fact, I recently made sourdough waffles for the first time (good stuff!).

    I absolutely love the idea of adding cinnamon to the batter. I will bet that adds a lot of flavor. I must try this!

Leave a Reply

