Red Wine: My accessory of choice

Who knew that red wine could turn an ordinary meal into extraordinary?

I love beef stew.  It is an easy meal, its delicious, and I know the nutritional stats on everything in it.  And its pretty darn healthy if you use lean meat!

When I woke up to a snow day this morning my first thought was “CROCKPOT!”.

I cut up a little over a pound of stew meat and put it in the crockot with some flour.  Coated the meat, and then added my extra ingredient–red wine.  We had an open bottle of Cabernet in the fridge so I put about 1/2 in with the meat to start cooking while I chopped up my veggies.

I included 3 carrots, 1 small yellow onion, 2 large potatoes, 4.5 cups of water, and seasoning.  Then I let the crockpot do its magic for about 5 hours (on high).  What happened was MAGICAL.

This is by far the best beef stew I have ever had.  The red wine did something amazing to the beef while it was cooking (I think it was at the very beginning when it marinated in it with the flour.)  The meat was tender, the gravy delicious, and overall the meal just tasted GOURMET.


This meal definitely rocked my world, I encourage you all to make it!

Finished my hour trainer ride (while watching Tabatha’s Salon Takeover, obviously. Love Bravo!) Now on my way to the gym to do a 45 minute run. Want to get it over with so I can come back and get ready for a night with the girls!

PS check the 5 day forecast for the week…rumor have a -30 degree windchill coming. Boo! Good thing I dont mind the ‘mill!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

