Pizza Dough

It was New Years Eve, I was in my pajamas, PW was at work…what better to do than make pizza dough?

I have long overcome my fear of proofing yeast. I love bread. It is my favorite food of all time, even. Pizza crust is in that category!

So, first things first, proof the yeast:

1 cup warm water
1 Tablespoon sugar
1 Package Active Yeast

Once you have some foaming action, add 3 tablespoons of olive oil:

Then add garlic powder, salt, and 3 cups of flour (in small doses.) Mix well, then knead!

Let rise for about an hour then spread on a greased pan (very important!)

I baked mine for about 15 minutes before adding any toppings because I like a crispy-bottomed crust! Once it started to brown on top I added some sun-dried tomato pesto:

And some generic pizza sauce. I topped it with approximately one million different types of cheese. And some garlic chicken sausage!

Pretty good! Next time Id like to go all homemade-crust, sauce, and well…not homemade cheese but maybe a more authentic mozzarella or chevre!


Leave a Reply

