Amazing Bruschetta

So, I finally decided on the appetizer I would be bringing for Christmas Eve dinner…Bruschetta. I rarely have it (PW doesnt like tomatoes) but when I do, its a treat! Perfect for the holiday.

Ingredients were as follows…

1 loaf french bread (cut into 3/4 in slices)
3 Tablespoons Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto
1/4 cup olive oil
3 cloves garlic (1 to rub on sliced bread, 2 to go into mixture–minced)
6 Roma Tomatoes (chopped up)
1/4 Tsp Salt
1/4 Tsp pepper
2 Tablespoons Balsamic Vinegar
1/4 cup fresh basil (chopped)
Shredded Mozzarella Cheese

Our party doesnt start until 4:30, and we have some serious traveling to do between now and then so I decided to try something a little different. I toasted the baguette and put the cheese on it and then brought the topping separately so it wouldn’t get soggy in the car. Worked out great! That way people can also decide how much bruschetta they want.

So I started by slicing the bread, brushing the top with olive oil, rubbing 1 of the garlic cloves on top, and topping with mozarella and baking for about 5 minutes (broiling, really…about 450 degrees) until cheese was pefect and bread was toasty. Then I put the bread on a cooling rack so it could get crunchy on the bottom.

While that magic was happening, I combined the rest of the ingredients in a bowl and mixed them up really well. (Cut up tomatoes, minced garlic, pesto, basil, salt, pepper, olive oil, balsamic vinegar).


I think this will get better the longer it sits, but I couldnt wait and had to try it right away!

This is by far the best bruschetta I have ever have! I think it also may be one of the best things I have ever made. It is delicious and satisfying. The key is definitely the fresh basil. Cannot wait to unveil it tonight at the party!

Will be back with a non-cooking entry soon, a lot has been going on!

4 responses

Leave a Reply

