What have I been doing? Running. A lot.

Ive been away. Running and sleeping and trying to reign in the diet. I had a terrible run yesterday at noon, so cut it short, and then completed the rest at 7pm. And that second run was awesome. Fastest Zone 1 to date. But thats all boring, lets get to the good stuff:

I made Heath bar (toffee) cookies today. For my in-laws. They are being SO GREAT and watching our dogs for us last minute tonight and tomorrow night so we can go up to Timberman-fest and cheer for all of our friends and I can do my 2 hour run in a change of scenery. It wont completely make up for what they are doing, BUT I thought it would make them forget for at least a little bit how much Kona barks when their dog Kaiah comes near her!

These are in no way core-friendly but are in every way delicious:

I ended up not using the white sugar, and adding an egg.

Make your basic cookie dough, separating the wet and dry ingredients.

(Dry: 1.25 cups flour, .5 tsp baking soda, .5 tsp salt Wet: 1 stick butter, 1 egg, .75 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract)

Mix together and get deliciousness (I could live off of plain ole cookie batter like this!) This can be your base for any cookies, add in whatever at this point. I picked TOFFEE! Because its her favorite.

Now, in case you were wondering, I did in fact make my own Heath Bar bits. By individually crushing each one of those individual sized pieces. With my wooden spoon. I ended up using about 1.5 cups.

Ball ’em:

Bake at 350 and scrumptious-ness will ensue (did I make up that word? perhaps.)

I did, in fact, have one. How could I not?

Now I am off to get my oil changed, mess around with my room at school, and massage some legs. Tonight, we are having dinner with PW’s sister and her boyfriend. They will be enjoying pizza (it is Friday!), while I munch on salad. Why would I do that to myself you ask?

Because tomorrow…I tackle a 5k. In Scituate. I have a very specific goal (which after the 10k, I probably should have learned my lesson), and Im crossing my fingers I can hold on for the 3 miles! Also it is my friends first 5k and I super psyched about it because I know shes going to go way faster than her goal and it will be awesome!!

4 responses

Leave a Reply

