Easy peasy hummus.

After making this, I will never again buy hummus at the grocery store. Its just so easy and so cheap I can’t justify paying $4 at the store!

Here are the players:

Put the entire can of (drained) chickpeas into the food processer, BUT! First, save a little but of the chickpea juice to use at the end of the recipe (I know, gross image, but I felt the need to call it that!)

To the chickpeas add:

2 Tblsp Lemon Juice (fresh squeezed, come on! The recipe only takes 5 minutes!)
2 Tblsp Olive Oil
Salt
Pepper

Puree that as smooth as you can. This is probably as far as you’ll get at this point:

Now is when you add the liquid from the chickpea can, little by little, until you get the desire consistency. This is how mine looked:

Now add whatever you want for flavorings. Notice there is no tahini in the recipe. Because really, who has that stocked in their house? Anyway, because of the lack of tahini, it doesnt have much of a flavor. Just like…chickpeas and olive oil.

Here are some flavoring ideas:

Roasted garlic
Carmelized onion
Veggies (throw them in the food processor first so theyre nice and tiny!)
OR dig a well in the middle and put some olive oil in the middle (makes for a nice presentation!)

If you have ever read my blog before, you know what I picked for my hummus. Because it is my default topping for anything and everything. And my favorite.

Carmelized onion:

Mix well!

So very delicious.

Shout out to my sister-in-law Dawn who made my Core-friendly Fruit Dip for a wedding shower this weekend, and said it was a hit!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

