Sangria try #1

Thursday night we are going to a little fiesta. I volunteered to bring my homemade pizza, and some sangria. I am a HUGE sangria fan. Fruity, summery, and wine. You really can’t lose! However, Ive never made it before, always bought it or had someone else make it. I did some research today on recipes and tried to wing it on my own.

If you know me, you know red wine is my thing. So I started with a Cabernet I had on hand from Root:1 (which is yum by the way!).

I was making sangria for one (PW doesnt do wine!) so I started with half a glass and I added about a tablespoon of sugar, a slice of lemon, a slice of lime, some seltzer, and put it in the fridge.

Dropped in some ice cubes and gave it a shot!

This is how I felt about it:

(Pardon the picture, I am make-up less, come on it is 8pm on a Tuesday night!)
If you can’t tell, my expression is “eh”. It wasn’t bad, but I’ve had better. Definitely needs something else. And an overnight sit in the fridge! Tomorrow I will try another recipe (anyone have one to suggest??), with something else in it, and let it sit overnight so it will be ready for Thursday!!

In other news, a week left of school! It is bittersweet. I really, really love my job. I am extremely lucky in that I have a job that I enjoy going to, enjoy being at, and truly appreciate my coworkers. Not a lot of people can say that. I have some seriously awesome students. But, there is always next year!!!! I will take my summer to have fun and do a lot of running, and look forward to starting with a whole new group of kids in September!!

New recipes coming up on the blog: Lentil burgers (I LOVE LENTILS!), and the QT2 Systems Banana Bread (Power Bar replacement!). In the next week or so…

2 responses

  1. Add some brandy (blackberry or apricot are good) and some sort of juice (Mango tango is good-it’s one of those that come in the square bottle-refrigerated) and DEFINITELY refrigerate at least overnight.

Leave a Reply

