FALAFEL!

Now, I’ve never had falafel before. In fact, I didn’t even know what was in it! (Its chickpeas amongst other things if youre wondering!) I kept seeing it in blogs and somehow got it in my brain that when I got a food processor, that would be the first thing I would make! So, I looked at about 20 recipes (thank you AllRecipes, and in the end, made up my own.

Definitely necessary!

The line-up! I ended up not using the egg.

Drain a can of chickpeas VERY well and then put them into the food processor:

Add in your finely diced onion, 2 garlic cloves, 3/4 tsp salt and some pepper:


(Side note: YUM i love chickpeas!)

Mix well, using your Spoonula to scrape the sides!

THIS is when you mix in your flour and bread crumbs. I used 1/4 cup of flour and 1/4 cup of whole wheat breadcrumbs, and spoonula-ed them to mix 🙂

Roll into approximately 15 balls and then place them on a sprayed pan!

Cook at 400 for 15 minutes, then flip and reshape and cook until browned (I like everything well done, so I made mine really crispy!). Had them with a side of fresh plum!

I was EXTREMELY happy with falafel in general! Looking at the ingredient list though…how can you go wrong? They would be good over a salad (lunch tomorrow?). Now we’ll see if I can get PW to try one 🙂

Also had the most unbelievable mocktail. Lime seltzer mixed with storebought limeade. YUM!

Weekly run recap tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

